When culture and Christianity collide…

April 3, 2006

The results can be interesting.

Take last week's American Idol. Mandisa–aka ManDIVA–sang "Shackles" by Mary Mary. She included a spoken-word opening, in which she said:

“This song goes out to everybody that wants to be free! Your addiction, your lifestyle or situation may be big, but God is bigger!” — as quoted in an article on The Advocate's web site.

The fallout from her use of the word "lifestyle" has been ridiculous. I've read plenty of nonsense online. Most of it trashing Mandisa, God, Christianity–and at times, all three.

It seems that plenty of people out there agree with the aforementioned article. In particular, the segment which says:

"…everyone knows that the word “lifestyle” is a code word used by gross, amoral religious jerks who refuse to do what Jesus told them to do (that whole “love everybody” stuff) And their secret definition of the word “lifestyle” is “burn in hell, faggots.” Except it’s not a secret. Maybe someone should tell Mandisa about this." 

Indeed. And while that "someone" is at it, she or he should tell me, and every other thinking Christian.

I never thought I'd write this, because I consider myself to be a fairly open-minded  individual. Nevertheless, I'm just going with how I feel:

When will members of our mainstream liberal culture and all of their bootlickers get over themselves, and try to actually learn a thing or two about the Christian community that they seem so desperate to perpetually insult?

"Lifestyle", as I know it, is a catch-all Christian term. It refers to the way that you are living. Mind you, in a negative sense. People may be caught up in an addiction to drugs or sex. They may run with a rough crowd and be in a gang. They might be involved with any number of criminal activities.  In the Christian world, that is what "lifestyle" refers to. A way of living that isn't right.

But those not in the know remain up in arms. It's as though they're determined to be good and angry about Mandisa's use of that word. I'm paraphrasing, but much of what I've read can be interpreted thusly: "Lifestyle?!? Mandisa said 'lifestyle'! And she's a Jesus freak!! Clearly, she meant to insult gay people!!" Oh yes. Clearly. 🙄 And the pouting continues as I've seen (read) people attempting to offer intelligent definitions of "lifestyle" as used among Christians…"I'm going to be offended whether you like it or not!!!"

To people who think like that, I have only one thing to say.

Grow up. "Lifestyle" is a word. It's not YOUR word. It does not have one solitary meaning–namely, the homophobic one that you choose to give it. It's been used long before someone coined the term "alternative lifestyle". It will exist long after it becomes old hat.

One Response to “When culture and Christianity collide…”

  1. Paul Says:

    This entry is brilliant. I don’t have the luxury of having the ability to accurately put
    my feelings into words at any given moment, so I admire others being able to. That being
    said, this entry hits the nail right on the head. It’s funny to me how the human mind
    works, how it conjures up these opinions and automatically assumes them laws or the
    equivalent simply because of one’s beliefs. Please do “Grow up”, or rather, “wake up” and
    realize that we live in a culturally diverse and very opinionated society, be able to
    distinguish between your opinions and actual facts and know when you need to keep your mouth closed.

Leave a comment